SEPA: payment by direct debit

SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area), also called SEPA Direct Debit (SDD), is a payment-integration initiative of the European Union for simplification of payments denominated in euro (via credit transfers, direct debits and credit cards) for all European countries.

The creditor (merchant) proposes this payment method to the debtor (buyer) in order to automatically process recurring and one-off invoices.

SEPA Direct Debit is based on the SEPA Direct Debit Mandate.

Countries where SEPA payment method can be used:
Table 1. Countries list
Zone Country
Eurozone EU countries Germany, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus (Greek part), Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia.
Non-Eurozone EU countries Bulgaria, Denmark, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, United Kingdom, Sweden.
EFTA (European Free Trade Association) countries Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.


The French islands and the overseas departments (Guadeloupe, Martinique , Guiana, La Réunion and Mayotte as well as the territories of Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint-Barthélemy, the French part of St. Martin, the Principality of Monaco are part of SEPA zone.

On the other hand, the European microstates, Andorra, the Vatican City, San Marino and Gilbraltar are out of the SEPA zone.