SEPA: direct debit payments

SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area) Direct Debit (SDD) is a European project whose aim is to create payments in euro (transfers, direct debits and card payments) across all European countries.

This payment is offered by a creditor (merchant) to a debtor (buyer) in order to automatically pay recurring or one-time invoices.

SEPA Direct Debit is based on a unique form: the “SEPA Direct Debit Mandate”.

Country where the SEPA payment method is accepted:
Table 1. List of countries compatible with SEPA
Area Country
European Union country euro zone Germany, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus (Greek part), Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia.
European Union country non-euro zone Bulgaria, Denmark, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, United Kingdom, Sweden.
European Free Trade Association (EFTA) member country Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.


As for France, the overseas departments and regions (Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Réunion and Mayotte), as well as the territories of Saint Pierre and Miquelon, St. Barths and the French part of the Saint Martin island are part of the SEPA together with the Principality of Monaco.

However, the principalities and microstates such as Andorra, Vatican, Saint Marin and Gibraltar are not part of the SEPA.